Banana Nutella Swirl Muffins

Standard

Nutella…like I needed to read any further, I was in love with this recipe http://www.thenovicechefblog.com/2013/01/nutella-banana-swirl-muffins/

I always have bananas in the freezer because no matter how much me and my lil one love bananas we can never get through a bunch before they turn brown. Recipes like this are ones that I take those bananas out and Bake away! This recipe was simple and my lil one even helped, we love recipes where she can participate.

what you will need:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 medium over-ripe bananas, mashed

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 large egg

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 cup chopped pecans

Nutella

sioux city 2 feb 2013 004

mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt until combined

sioux city 2 feb 2013 006

get your bananas, no they don’t look pretty…but they taste great in baking!

sioux city 2 feb 2013 009

place the bananas in a different bowl from your flour mixture

sioux city 2 feb 2013 010

and mash them up…this is a good chore for the lil ones :)

sioux city 2 feb 2013 011

sioux city 2 feb 2013 013

add the sugar and brown sugar to the mashed bananas

sioux city 2 feb 2013 014

mix in the egg oil and vanilla until it is all combined

sioux city 2 feb 2013 016

slowly add the flour mixture

sioux city 2 feb 2013 018

and mix until there are no lumps

sioux city 2 feb 2013 020

Now it is time to add the pecans

sioux city 2 feb 2013 028

fold them in…do not over stir

sioux city 2 feb 2013 030

line your muffin tin…I ended up with one and a half muffin tins worth

sioux city 2 feb 2013 029

Mmm get the Nutella ready too!

sioux city 2 feb 2013 031

fill the muffin cups about 3/4 of the way full with the batter

sioux city 2 feb 2013 032

top with about a teaspoon on Nutella

sioux city 2 feb 2013 034

take a toothpick and swirl them all together

sioux city 2 feb 2013 036

sioux city 2 feb 2013 037

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 15-17 minutes…mine tooka few minutes longer than this, I may have filled them a bit fuller than I should have. But just use a toothpick and when it comes out clean they are done…note that the Nutella will be on the toothpick all melted, just make sure the batter part is done.

sioux city 2 feb 2013 040

ENJOY!!!

sioux city 2 feb 2013 041

sioux city 2 feb 2013 044

About Alaskan at heart

I'm new to blogging, I am not sure why I wanted to start, I just did. I have done a lot in my life so far, and love to learn. I try new things all of the time, and love to teach myself as well. My passion is the great outdoors, I love being with nature. I hope that this blog can be funny, insightful, and full of knowledge. I am a Pinterest addict, I love all of the ideas I get from that wonderful site. I try a lot of things from there so there will be many Pinterest updates from me. That is me in a nutshell right now.

Leave a Reply

