The mind of a 17 month old…

Standard

Who can explain to me how a 17 month old thinks? I am a first time mom, and I often wonder to myself what I thought about when I was little. Not like if I pondered how the earth was made or anything, But simpler things. Like when my lil one wants to go wading in the dogs water bowl. What goes thorough her mind? Is it “ya, this will really piss mama off!” Or maybe “hmm it’s hot in here, I could use a swim”. I just wonder because I have tried every approach to steer her away from this. I have tried the nice sweet “now you know we are not to play in the puppy water, lets go over here and play with our toys” I have also tried “insert first and middle name here(stern voice) get out of the puppy water NOW!” I have tried smacking the hand, now before you go call CPS on me, I usually miss her hand and get my own and she cries more so because she is scared. And to add to that, she doesn’t even always cry! She sometimes points at me and goes “uh uh” accompanied by “the look” yes the look I give when I get mad, she gives back to me. She also knows she is not allowed to do certain things, because when she hears me coming she runs! So, what is going on in her head?

Another one I am still trying to figure out is potty training. We are not going at this full force, she is only 17 months I will give her time. But she knows what the potty is for. But why when I hear her, you know…crapping her pants, does she not go to the potty? I ask her if she needs the potty. Mid grunt I get an “uh uh”. Why? She hates to have her diaper changed, she should just go potty on the potty!

The other “what is she thinking about moment” is when she is “helping” me in the kitchen. Yes, I love her to see what goes on in all aspects of life. I include her when ever I can. But the kitchen has turned into a sorting room for her. She can get into very few drawers and cupboards in the kitchen. The ones she does have access to immediately become empty. Now she is tidy about this. Very particular on where the things will be relocated. this is why I can never find anything! But what does she think about as she relocated my spoons, and lids to the Tupperware?

I guess that is all that is on my mind for today. Well so far anyway. My 31 year old mind will continue to ponder the thoughts of a 17 month old. And no matter what I will continue to love her endlessly!

About Alaskan at heart

I'm new to blogging, I am not sure why I wanted to start, I just did. I have done a lot in my life so far, and love to learn. I try new things all of the time, and love to teach myself as well. My passion is the great outdoors, I love being with nature. I hope that this blog can be funny, insightful, and full of knowledge. I am a Pinterest addict, I love all of the ideas I get from that wonderful site. I try a lot of things from there so there will be many Pinterest updates from me. That is me in a nutshell right now.

Leave a comment