Amish white bread

Standard

Hi my name is Regina and I am a carbohydrate junkie! There I confess…one weakness well there are many,but today it was homemade bread! I found many recipes on pinterest, but this one http://jujugoodnews.com/amish-white-bread/ looked pretty good and easy. So I gave it a whirl…and I was right, it is YUMMY!
Here is what you will need…
2 cups warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
2/3 cup white sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons active dry yeast
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/4 cup vegetable oil
6 cups bread flour

fish and bread 043

dissolve the sugar in the warm water

fish and bread 047

add your yeast

fish and bread 048

proof it until it gets nice and foamy

fish and bread 063

stir in the oil and salt

fish and bread 065

then add the flour a cup at a time…yes I transferred this to the big mixer, I should have started there 🙂

fish and bread 067

mix it all up

fish and bread 070

turn it out onto a floured surface and need until smooth, I had to add a lil extra water.

fish and bread 073

place in a well oiled bowl, and turn to coat

fish and bread 075

cover with a damp cloth and proof until the ball doubles in size (about an hour) If your oven does not have a proof setting, just find a nice warm place in the house.

fish and bread 076

its growing!

fish and bread 082

Ok it did get big, but I got excited and punched it down before I got a picture…so punch the dough and divide the dough in half

fish and bread 083

make 2 nice loafs and place in  9x 5 inch bread pans…mine were slightly larger, it did not matter.

fish and bread 084

let rise until about an inch above the pan…takes about a half hour

fish and bread 087

see nice and big

fish and bread 090

bake at 350

fish and bread 096

for 30  minutes

fish and bread 097

YUM

fish and bread 099

I brushed the tops with melted butter even more YUM!

fish and bread 101

Beautiful

fish and bread 102

ENJOY!!!

fish and bread 104

About Alaskan at heart

I'm new to blogging, I am not sure why I wanted to start, I just did. I have done a lot in my life so far, and love to learn. I try new things all of the time, and love to teach myself as well. My passion is the great outdoors, I love being with nature. I hope that this blog can be funny, insightful, and full of knowledge. I am a Pinterest addict, I love all of the ideas I get from that wonderful site. I try a lot of things from there so there will be many Pinterest updates from me. That is me in a nutshell right now.

3 responses »

  1. i like yur new oven. im going to try that bread i pinned your recipe thanks for the step by step but i dont have a kitchiaid so i have to do it by hand just like the olden days lol

Leave a Reply

