The Play Kitchen!

Standard

If you have ever been on pinterest you have seen them. The entertainment center turned kitchen. My lil girl LOVES to help in the kitchen and I didnt want one of those tacky plastic kitchen in my living room. I know they actually are pretty cool, but I wanted something that my lil gilr could be proud of…and one I could be proud of too. I found a couple of them on pinterest and used them to help design the one I made for Santa…he was busy this year and asked if I could do it for him :)Here are the links to ones I found on Pinterest

http://dishfunctionaldesigns.blogspot.com/2012/04/old-furniture-upcycled-into-dollhouses.html

http://stitchesandnails.blogspot.com/2011/04/whats-cooking.html

And here is what I did…

I found this entertainment center on craigslist for 25 bucks…I think..I couldnt pass it up! I knew exactly what I was going to do with it!

IMAG1489

And I guess I forgot to take pictures of the priming part…But I did not sand a thing, I wiped it down and got busy priming. I did buy a cheap brand of paint and primer, this I will not do again. Cheap is good for a lot of things, paint is not one. I just had to apply many coats is all.

 

But here you see I painted the entire thing pink. I then masked off areas and painted areas a charcoal grey.

kitchen 022

Masking tape off…

kitchen 026

Ihave the doors going too…my downstairs living area was taken over for a month or so…I was not quick with this project, only worked on it at night.

kitchen 027

for the backsplash I went to the hardware store and got a cheap piece of board. I then didnt want it to be plain, so I went for the chevron style. this took me a lil while, I made a grid, and I was tired and ended up doing the masking wrong a few times…but I finally got it.

kitchen 029

Put the paint where I wanted it…

kitchen 030

everything is drying…this is why it takes so long.

kitchen 034

the shelves and the doors, and I replaced the glass in the big door, with a piece of the cheap board, and I painted it magnet paint…I would sugest not wasting your money on this. it is not very strong, it will onlyhold very lightweight magnets, and I was afrait to paint over it, so only did one coat of grey overtop.

kitchen 035

This step I should have done before I painted…but holes for the sink and faucet…the faucet I picked up at a second hand store for 10 bucks and the sink is just a metal bowl from my kitchen that I never use.

kitchen 036

make where you want, and drill…and well I used a saw for the hole

kitchen 038

I used a picture frame to make a window, and just inserted a picture from a magazine…she is now in africa while baking me cookies! I also sewed up a couple small curtains and super glued them to the back…I used 3M velcro strips to put up the frame that way we can change the photo from time to time.

kitchen 044

for the stove I used CDs painted silver and the knobs are door stops.

kitchen 065

I got a cheap battery opperated light and velcroed it up, hung some hooks for spoons and Tada!!

kitchen 039

Inside the fridge

kitchen 040

Got these letters and stuck them up,used hooks to hang aprons

kitchen 051

All doors open

kitchen 059

Easy Peasy! and so much better than one of the plastic ones 🙂

kitchen 041

 

 

About Alaskan at heart

I'm new to blogging, I am not sure why I wanted to start, I just did. I have done a lot in my life so far, and love to learn. I try new things all of the time, and love to teach myself as well. My passion is the great outdoors, I love being with nature. I hope that this blog can be funny, insightful, and full of knowledge. I am a Pinterest addict, I love all of the ideas I get from that wonderful site. I try a lot of things from there so there will be many Pinterest updates from me. That is me in a nutshell right now.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

