Time Out Chair

Standard

My lil angel is, well not always as perfect as I would like her to be. She throws fits, she throws blocks, she says NO, she runs away, she plays in the dog water bowl, the list could go on for days. I found after many different tactics, that the one that works best for her are time outs! I was placing her on the sofa for her time outs, and she would then just play there, I being the upset Mama was not fond of her having so much fun in the time out that I decided to go ahead and make her, her very own chair for the occasions! I got a great lil chair, it had layers upon layers of what was probably flaking lead based paint. But I found a cute lil chair on…you guessed it Pinterest, and I wanted one. Here is the link to the one I saw http://media-cache-ec5.pinterest.com/upload/253397916504698211_dehBcmCJ.jpg and here is what I did…

This is the cute lile chair in all of its glory, lead based paint, dust and well just not pretty. But it was old and I loved it!

kitchen 002

 

I tried my best to sand it, I even got the Dremel out. This paint was tough and there was a varnish and stain? I couldn’t tell, it was deep, but I got a lot off and decided I needed paint stripper!

kitchen 011

It was cold out, and I didn’t want to do it in the garage, so into the spare bathroom I went. I chose an orange scented less toxic version of paint stripper. It worked great. If you were to be watching me while I stripped the paint you would have thought otherwise…yes the room was tiny, the fumes were still very toxic and it was about 2am!

kitchen 004

Paint stripper is applied

kitchen 006

tested a small area to see how it was coming…not bad but needed more time

kitchen 007

after getting is all off and giving the char a bath, it looks pretty good, still some paint, but I couldn’t even sand that off, I think it is meant to be there.

kitchen 008

Now time to prep for painting, I neglected to take photos of this, but I did use a couple of coats of primer and then a couple of coats of paint.

kitchen 012

As you can see I went pink 🙂 I then needed to tape lines to follow when I was painting the words for my cute chair. and also accents on the spindles

kitchen 016

Here is the cute Poem I found on pinterest, It says…Uh-Oh, you’ve been caught;Now a lesson must be taught; sit upon this chair of wood; Maybe next time you’ll be good. I love it!

kitchen 017

kitchen 018

I then got a spray top coat and covered the chair, easier to clean and made it shine! I LOve the chair, and my lil angel does too…except when she needs to sit in it for time outs.

kitchen 019

kitchen 020

About Alaskan at heart

I'm new to blogging, I am not sure why I wanted to start, I just did. I have done a lot in my life so far, and love to learn. I try new things all of the time, and love to teach myself as well. My passion is the great outdoors, I love being with nature. I hope that this blog can be funny, insightful, and full of knowledge. I am a Pinterest addict, I love all of the ideas I get from that wonderful site. I try a lot of things from there so there will be many Pinterest updates from me. That is me in a nutshell right now.

One response »

  1. I can’t believe how talented you are. I showed this to your Dad and he loved it. Very beautiful. The Kitchen is great too! Good work!

Leave a Reply

