Ice Globes

Standard

It has been cold with a capital “C” here the past few days. Nothing to do but stay inside. I remembered seeing a cool idea on, you guessed it, Pinterest last summer. It was for frozen water balloons…

http://modcloth.tumblr.com/post/13605657291/these-little-ice-globes-are-made-by-filling

Ok these ones  in the above post were too tiny, I had some regular sized balloons that I found in my junk drawer (don’t judge, you know you have a junk drawer).

here is what I did!

Get some food coloring, and some balloons and a faucet that you can stick a balloon onto

balloons jan 21 2013 001

put some food coloring into the balloon, a may have over did it, but more color the better right!

balloons jan 21 2013 003

The only faucet I had to accommodate a balloon was my bathroom sink, and it barely worked.

balloons jan 21 2013 004

Hold on tight…the water will go everywhere if you don’t!

balloons jan 21 2013 005

I did not take any pictures of a full balloon, but just tie it up…you can do it.

It does get a lil messy, it cleans up though. You could put rags down if you are worried.

balloons jan 21 2013 006

The bathtub works as a good pen to keep them all in line

balloons jan 21 2013 007

and since mother nature has the heater turned off, I have the natural outdoor freezer. Some people told me that they used their deep freeze, use what you have.

balloons jan 21 2013 008

I brought mine outside VERY carefully, 2 at a time. It was a chore.

balloons jan 21 2013 009

None popped when I was placing them. I went to check on them a half an hour later though ans 2 had explided!…just have pretty snow now 🙂

balloons jan 21 2013 011

this is about 5 hours later, still liquid in there, so we will wait it out over night, and see how they are tomorrow.

balloons jan 21 2013 012

I will update, don’t worry!

Ok, I’m back…and look what I found out in the yard this morning! The water froze and expanded, and the ballons were all torn.

bread flop jan 22 2013 001

This is what was underneath…it is still a lil messy. even though it was colder than cold, not all of the water froze. so to remove the balloons do not wear your best clothes.

bread flop jan 22 2013 003

My driveway is lined with happiness!

bread flop jan 22 2013 004

About Alaskan at heart

I'm new to blogging, I am not sure why I wanted to start, I just did. I have done a lot in my life so far, and love to learn. I try new things all of the time, and love to teach myself as well. My passion is the great outdoors, I love being with nature. I hope that this blog can be funny, insightful, and full of knowledge. I am a Pinterest addict, I love all of the ideas I get from that wonderful site. I try a lot of things from there so there will be many Pinterest updates from me. That is me in a nutshell right now.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

