Key tree

Standard

I know I’m not the only one who seems to have a clutter problem. It may not bother some people, but for me…I HATE clutter! My kitchen counter has become the new home for hats, keys wallets and anything else that gets put in your pockets throughout the day. I needed a new home for this stuff, but where?

I searched Pinterest of course! I found some decals of trees that people stick to their walls, they are black and look like a silhouette, and then I saw that someone had put hooks on one! WHY CAN I NOT THINK OF THESE THINGS! Here is the link I used as my inspiration!

http://aplaceidliketocallhome.tumblr.com/post/6470876814

I had some left over charcoal color paint from the play kitchen project, and I had brushes too…I had a pencil and a view of a tree in my mind. I could do this! and so I did!

 

I needed a spot. I know! That angled wall at the top of the entry way stairs, I have had no idea what to do with it…until now!

brownies and tree jan 18 2013 055

Pencil out a tree…this is easier than it may sound. Be free…trees are wild, they have no rules, put a branch here or there. You can do it. (sorry the pencil did not show up like it should have.)

brownies and tree jan 18 2013 057

Get some paint and fill in the lines…I changed some branches along the way…that is the great thing about art, it has no rules either!

brownies and tree jan 18 2013 059

First coat done, all this happened during my lil ones nap! it is quick and easy!

brownies and tree jan 18 2013 061

After the lil one went to bed at night it was time to get busy again. I did a second coat of paint and some touch ups.

The one long branch that is sticking straight out, it has a purpose. I had bought some floating shelves at a garage sale past summer, I found a home for one! If you have not seen these, they are the greatest!

This kind has a level built into the bracket, I just held it where I wanted it, got a marker and marked the holes for the screws and away we went…folow the directions on yours if you decide to use one.

brownies and tree jan 18 2013 065

The shelf is up!

brownies and tree jan 18 2013 066

Now some hooks, these are just run of the mill hooks, use whatever you want.

brownies and tree jan 18 2013 067

Hooks are up! TREE IS DONE!

brownies and tree jan 18 2013 068

And this is the tree in action…best thing of all…I HAVE MY KITCHEN COUNTER BACK!

brownies and tree jan 18 2013 069

About Alaskan at heart

I'm new to blogging, I am not sure why I wanted to start, I just did. I have done a lot in my life so far, and love to learn. I try new things all of the time, and love to teach myself as well. My passion is the great outdoors, I love being with nature. I hope that this blog can be funny, insightful, and full of knowledge. I am a Pinterest addict, I love all of the ideas I get from that wonderful site. I try a lot of things from there so there will be many Pinterest updates from me. That is me in a nutshell right now.

3 responses »

  1. now that turned out to good. so tell me do you use it all the time?? lol i like it and it adds niceness to your wall. you are a very tallented girl

Leave a Reply

