The great bread flop…

Standard

I know I know, if it is not broke don’t fix it. But saw this recipe for bread and I had to try it. I love the Amish bread recipe I have been using but it is a little bit dense and was looking for a more fluffy recipe. This one I found on Pinterest was not it. http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-basic-white-sandwich-bread-166588 It was an ok recipe, but there are a few things I may change if I ever do try this again. The thing I did not like was that I had to add the sugar with the flour, I think I would rather dissolve the sugar in the warm water then add the yeast and stir it all together and let sit until it is frothy. Where as this recipe just has you dissolve the yeast in the warm water and then add all of the other ingredients. Look at me trying to be a master baker 😛 I am going to be the first to tell you that I know NOTHING about bread baking, but I do know that yeast needs to be able to come alive and do its thing.

I am posting my flop recipe so that you guys all know that not everything I make turns out great. Sometimes you have a flop, such is life. You have to pick up your feet and move on…so here it goes.

Enter, “The Flop”…

You will need:

2 teaspoons active-dry yeast
1 cup (8 oz) warm water
2 tablespoons (1 oz) unsalted butter
1 cup (8 oz) milk – whole, 2%, or skim
2 tablespoons white sugar
1 tablespoon salt
5 1/2 – 6 1/2 cups (1 lb 9 oz – 2 lbs 3 oz) all-purpose flour

bread flop jan 22 2013 005

Place the warm water in your mixing bowl, and sprinkle the yeast on top (this is where I would do different, but that is for a different post at a later time)

bread flop jan 22 2013 006

The yeast is now dissolved

bread flop jan 22 2013 007

Combine the melted butter, milk, sugar and salt, and get one cup of the flour

bread flop jan 22 2013 008

dump them into the yeast mixture

bread flop jan 22 2013 009

stir until you have a lumpy batter

bread flop jan 22 2013 010

next add 4 1/2 cups of flour to the mixing bowl (add more if you need it)

bread flop jan 22 2013 011

mix it until you get a floury shaggy dough

bread flop jan 22 2013 014

then knead the dough for 8-10 minutes, it will get nice and soft, a little sticky is good, it should ball up nicely.

bread flop jan 22 2013 018

put your dough ball on the counter and clean out your mixing bowl (or grab a clean one) grease the bowl and place the dough ball back in the bowl turn it around so that the ball is nicely oiled.

bread flop jan 22 2013 019

bread flop jan 22 2013 020

place a damp cloth over the bowl and find a warm place for it to proof

bread flop jan 22 2013 022

let it proof for about an hour

bread flop jan 22 2013 023

It should look like this

bread flop jan 22 2013 024

Do not punch it (i know, darn) just turn it out onto a very lightly floured counter

bread flop jan 22 2013 026

cut it into 2 pieces

bread flop jan 22 2013 027

Do your best to make them into loaves. fold and pinch, You can do it

bread flop jan 22 2013 038

Place them in oiled loaf pans

bread flop jan 22 2013 040

and let them rise about a half an hour or until the peaks rise just above the pan

bread flop jan 22 2013 041

this was mine after a half an hour…not much hight, so we kept going

bread flop jan 22 2013 042

there we go, an hour of proofing and we have it, but the tops are dry 😦

bread flop jan 22 2013 043

and when I slit the tops they fell 😦

bread flop jan 22 2013 046

turn your oven onto 420 degrees F, when you put the loaves in the oven turn it down to 375. then bake for 30 minutes…You will then have, well I hope yours turns out better.

bread flop jan 22 2013 048

bread flop jan 22 2013 049

Butter the tops,

bread flop jan 22 2013 051

Not bad…but not good. Enjoy!

bread flop jan 22 2013 053

About Alaskan at heart

I'm new to blogging, I am not sure why I wanted to start, I just did. I have done a lot in my life so far, and love to learn. I try new things all of the time, and love to teach myself as well. My passion is the great outdoors, I love being with nature. I hope that this blog can be funny, insightful, and full of knowledge. I am a Pinterest addict, I love all of the ideas I get from that wonderful site. I try a lot of things from there so there will be many Pinterest updates from me. That is me in a nutshell right now.

Leave a Reply

