French Bread…pretty easy

Standard

As you know (if you have been keeping up with my blog) I have been in a roll with bread…hahaha roll, with bread get it! ya I’m lame. Anyway, I have been trying any and all bread recipe I can get my hands on. My favorite so far is still the Amish white bread recipe, but this one may be a close second. I had a worry after i had made it, and was concerned with the recipe when the instructionshttp://www.dealstomeals.blogspot.com/2009/03/blog-post_09.html  said to punch it down 3 times during the rising process, I thought this was going to take hours (id did not, then the recipe just called for yeast so I just used active dry yeast, come to find by reading her comments that she was using the rapid yeast, this too had me worried. Come to find, that it did not matter that I used regular yeast, and it did not take hours to make, I punched it down 3 times and still had bread in about 2 hours with the whole process start to finish. it is a nice airy bread, tastes great, and as a side note, it makes fantastic french toast!

Here is what you will need:

2 1/2 c. warm water
2 Tbls. yeast
3 Tbls. sugar
2 Tbls. white vinegar
Add the above ingredients together and let sit until bubbly (about 3-5 minutes).  Then add:
1 Tbls. salt
1/3 c. oil (I use veg)
6-7 c. flour (or a little more if it’s too soft…i used almost 8), one cup at a time–add enough until the dough is soft, but firm enough to mold into dough loaves

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 018

combine the water, yeast, sugar and vinegar

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 019

I stirred it and let it do its thing for a few minutes in the oven on the proof setting (if you don’t have a proof setting, just a low heat or a warm place in the house is fine)

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 020

is should get a lil bubbly

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 021

then you want to add the salt and oil

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 022

now you get to start adding the flour. The instructions said 6-7 cups…I needed almost 8. I guess it just depends on the weather, elevation and just the mood

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 024

this was after 6 cups…mine was just not ready to be bread so I kept going

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 025

here we are at 7…it is supposed to be sticky, not like regular bread, so if you can make a loaf with it is ready to go, mine was still too loose.

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 026

this is with my 8th cup…it was perfect. still stick, and still a loose dough

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 028

I greased a bowl and scraped the dough out into it…dont knead it, dont punch it, just plop it in there. Then I sprayed the top with cooking spray

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 030

place it in your oven or in your warm spot and let is rise to the top of the bowl, this can take a lil while took mine about a half an hour.

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 031

See it grows! now to punch it!

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 033

PUNCH!

then put it back in the oven or warm spot to let is rise again…punch it down and let it rise again, then punch it another time and let it rise again…(took about an hour all together.)

If you don’t have the time to do this, do not worry one punch down and re rise is enough (You probably don’t even have to punch it down if you are in a hurry, just let it rise once without punching it)

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 036

now you have a bowl of fluffy dough…I did not punch it this time, that is just the dent from the previous punches

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 040

Grease your countertop and turn that dough out onto the counter…Do not knead

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 042

cut the dough into 3 equal sized pieces. Shape them into long rectangles to resemble french bread loaves and place on greased cookie sheets…you can sprinkle corn meal on the cookie sheet to if you want.

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 044

slice a few lines in the bread to make it pretty and brush the tops with egg

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 045

let them rise for about a half an hour until they have doubled in size, or until they are the size you want them.

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 048

see pretty loafs….Now bake for 30 minutes in a 375 F oven

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 049

Mmmmm

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 051

Beautiful!

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 053

ENJOY!!!

bread and paint jan 26-27 2013 056

About Alaskan at heart

I'm new to blogging, I am not sure why I wanted to start, I just did. I have done a lot in my life so far, and love to learn. I try new things all of the time, and love to teach myself as well. My passion is the great outdoors, I love being with nature. I hope that this blog can be funny, insightful, and full of knowledge. I am a Pinterest addict, I love all of the ideas I get from that wonderful site. I try a lot of things from there so there will be many Pinterest updates from me. That is me in a nutshell right now.

One response »

Leave a Reply

