Dorothy’s Eclairs

Standard

Just so you all know I do have access to recipes other than those I find on Pinterest. And here is one 🙂

A few months ago we were at my in-laws house, my mother in law had just made some delicious eclairs. I had to have the recipe! She said she had gotten it from a lovely old lady Dorothy (good name and hence the name of the eclair, Also a good name because it was my Grandmas name) who they used to live across the street from.

This recipe is easy, and delicious. YOU MUST TRY! here is what you will need:

Eclair shells
1/2 C. butter
1 C. boiling water
1 C. flour
1/4 tsp. salt
4 eggs
eclairs 001
 Boil the water and butter
eclairs 006
eclairs 007
Once boiling add the flour and salt
eclairs 004
stir vigorously until it makes a ball…this is quick!
eclairs 008
Like…really quick!
eclairs 009
Remove from heat
eclairs 010
Let cool slightly, and add eggs one at a time and stir until smooth.
eclairs 012
I was worried about this, It looked like I had made dumplings for a while but I kept stirring really fast and look! It got smooth.
eclairs 014
Now take 2 spoons
eclairs 016
 and scoop and scrape…make them about spoon size.
eclairs 019
I ended up with 41 balls…You can also put this dough in a pastry bag and make logs
eclairs 020
now you need to smooth out the tops, the recipe I had said to use a wet spoon to smooth them out, I found my fingers were less hastle.
eclairs 021 eclairs 022
Put them in a 450…yes 450 degree oven for 12-15 minutes…this will puff them up
eclairs 024
see Puffed! keep them in the oven but turn the temp down to 325 and bake another 25 minutes
eclairs 025
You should have these!
eclairs 045
Now while they are still hot, tear…or like I did cut the tops off
eclairs 047
scrape out the insides…You really don’t have to do this step, but it makes that lil bit more room for the filling 🙂 You could just poke a hole in them really, and leave that lil bit in there and just pipe the filling into them
eclairs 048
Now this is the insides of all the puffs…not much but still kinda yummy to eat.
eclairs 053
place your puffs back in the oven for a few minutes just to dry them out nicely
eclairs 051
 all dry 🙂
eclairs 062
Now time for the filling!!!
Filling
1 large Instant Vanilla Pudding (sugar free works fine, and allows diabetics to enjoy them)
2 C. milk
8 oz. Cool Whip
eclairs 054
mix the milk and pudding (i used cheesecake flavor, I am sure any flavor would be great) Mix them until nice and thick…I used skim milk, I think 2% or whole would make it thicker.
eclairs 068
then fold in the coolwhip
eclairs 070
There is your filling
eclairs 071
Take a spoon generously plop it in the eclairs
eclairs 079
Yum
eclairs 074
Place the top back on
eclairs 076
Do not throw the left over filling away…EAT IT! it is YUMMO!!! 🙂
eclairs 087
Here is the finished product
 eclairs 085
Enjoy!    I did not frost, I think they are great right here…but there is an option frosting Keep scrolling down.
eclairs 086
Optional Frosting
3 oz. unsweetened chocolate
3 Tbsp. butter
2 C. powdered sugar
1/3 C. milk
1 tsp. vanilla
Melt chocolate and butter in microwave.  Stir in rest. Frost eclairs.

About Alaskan at heart

I'm new to blogging, I am not sure why I wanted to start, I just did. I have done a lot in my life so far, and love to learn. I try new things all of the time, and love to teach myself as well. My passion is the great outdoors, I love being with nature. I hope that this blog can be funny, insightful, and full of knowledge. I am a Pinterest addict, I love all of the ideas I get from that wonderful site. I try a lot of things from there so there will be many Pinterest updates from me. That is me in a nutshell right now.

Leave a comment